Fuck you, Mormon.org, for assaulting me while I send an e-card!!

headerLogo.png

I was gonna post various news clips and videos of the “outrage” over American Atheists’ billboard above the Lincoln Tunnel declaring, “You KNOW it’s a myth! This season, celebrate reason!”

bbweb.jpg

I get it.

You’re Christian. You’ve got kids in the car. You’ve spent their lives lying to them about god, Jesus, Santa, the impartiality of the justice system, the idea that yes, they will grow up and realize every dream of theirs no matter how delusional those dreams might be, and those dickhead, douchebag American Atheists have the blistering, vitriolic AUDACITY to call bullshit bullshit and dare to let in-the-closet atheists know that they’re not alone and shouldn’t be scared about coming out to their friends and family.

How fucking DARE they??!!

But you know what, hypothetical Christian parent? You can look away. You can ignore it. Sure, it’s RIGHT THERE hanging for all to see, but you can pay it no mind.

Just a few minutes ago, I was putting together a holiday e-card and after getting through all the process of sending, I arrived at the “You’ve successfully sent your card” page. Get this. I didn’t know it was the “You’ve successfully sent your card” page. Know why?

Because this Flash-ad splashed all over the screen announcing how the woman in the ad is a project manager, a blogger, and she KNOWS that god answers prayers. She’s a Mormon. Brought to you by Mormon.org.

For a split second, I was afraid that I’d accidetnally stumbled onto a Mormon greeting card site. Imagine my delight when I realized it was nothing more than an in-your-face, presumptive, rude, bullshit ad for the Mormons!

It was literally in my face (I have to look closely at my screen)! Upon navigating to this page, it was the first thing I saw and the only thing I could see for a couple of seconds.

I know. It only lasted a couple of seconds. I can ignore it. But the religious can do the same thing with the billboard which does not land on their windshield and sit there for a few seconds while they’re trying to drive.

So to all you religious who have pissed and moaned about the “offensive” billboard and why those pesky atheists won’t leave enough alone, consider my e-card trauma and shut the fuck up.

4 Responses to “Fuck you, Mormon.org, for assaulting me while I send an e-card!!”

  1. politicallyincorrectlibertarian Says:

    “So to all you religious who have pissed and moaned about the “offensive” billboard and why those pesky atheists won’t leave enough alone, consider my e-card trauma and shut the fuck up. ”

    —I’m not religious, in fact, it’s the atheists who are offended all the time. You don’t like God in the pledge of allegiance, you hate “In God we trust” in our dollar coins, you can’t stand Christmas or decide to have a “secular tree” (google that up). In America we have freedom OF religion, not freedom FROM religion. If you don’t want to participate in a religion, fine, don’t participate, but don’t you dare demand that we all follow your example.

    Frankly, I’m sick of secular nazis fighting wars against obesity, smoking, political incorrectness, people who want to protect the border, military recruiters, etc, etc, etc. Mind your own fucking business! If you don’t like God, don’t pray. Don’t like obesity? Don’t eat. Hate smoking? Go live in a cabin in the mountains, far away from smokers, gasoline, wood burning, farts, etc.
    Let freedom ring, goddammit!

  2. pcl-
    The only way to insure freedom OF religion is to have a government that is free FROM religion. The Pledge of Allegiance doesn’t belong in schools or public institutions and “In God We Trust” doesn’t belong on the money. The words “under God” were added to the Pledge in the 50′s during the same decade that the law mandated that “In God We Trust” be printed on money. The original (unofficial) motto of the United States was “E Pluribus Unum” which means “Out of Many, One”. This better reflects the pluralistic nature of our country. People should be free to believe what they want but the government should make no endorsements of faith. The Constitution guarantees that with the Establishment Clause.

    I think that for the most part laws should protect individual freedom. There are many cases where the freedom of one impinges upon the freedom of another.

  3. I’m tired of being ass fucked by advertisements of all sorts not just the morman.org bullshit.

    I appreciate your post, thanks.

    @politicallyincorrectlibertarian: I’m sure it would cause quite a stir if Atheists purchased some major ad-space and shoved it down the throats of many religious Americans. If you don’t like this site get the fuck off of it. This site is obviously not for you. I came here to find like minded people not your bitching.

    • Anton A. Hill Says:

      Hey Nick,

      Well, as long as we want free content, the content providers have to be paid somehow, thus advertising. I don’t mind it if it’s done well. I just almost with we could choose the kinds of ads we’re subjected to. Neither of us chose Mormon.org.

      Don’t worry about Simon (PILibertarian). He and I had a conversation over e-mail for quite a while, then he gave up. The only claim of his that really bothered me was this bullshit “freedom of religion doesn’t mean freedom from religion.” Not only is it not true, but I don’t think the “freedom of” is legally established anywhere. What is established is the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment.

      Best,

      Anton.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

