The @Pontifex throws in his #pallium

This blew my fucking mind. I never would’ve imagined a pope would retire. My lack of imagination seems to be justified as apparently the last time a pope resigned was 600 years ago.

I’d always been creeped out by Joseph Ratzinger. I mean look at him. Those dodgy, pedophile-priest-hiding eyes. That innocence-devouring, cock-swilling grin. Plus, he’s German. They’ve never done anything good. Except this. And maybe this.

When I first heard that he’d headed the office responsible for investigating pedophilia cases, I was appalled, shocked, and cynically amused. Of course he did. It makes perfect, cartoonish, Bond-villain sense that the Church would pick as their next pope the guy single-handedly responsible for “handling” the child-abuse scandal.

What’s also cynically amusing to me is that the one billion plus Catholics out there haven’t abandoned their Church. Of course they haven’t. Because the abused rarely leave the abuser, much less have them arrested. The narrative’s just too fucking important.

“The Church is good.”

“The Church is God’s institution on Earth.”

“The Church is perfect.”

“Death is terrifying so let’s uphold this bullshit at all costs.”

I remember Bill Maher said years ago that if the Church were a day-care chain, it would’ve been shut down, bankrupted, and its culprits arrested and locked away.

But…

“The Church is good.”

I saw this documentary yesterday called Mea Maxima Culpa. It went into all kinds of detail on the various scandals. During it, I remarked something to the effect of, “The Vatican is a sovereign state. There’s no way to prosecute the pope.”

I met someone who is a registered sex offender. He/She must register wherever he/she lives for the rest of his/her life for his/her indirect part in a crime. He/She never molested anyone, but must wear this stigma forever.

The pope gets to retire. The “sex offender” must live with a stigma. Ah, the all-important narrative.

Someone told me things will change. Even Catholics will say, “Enough.” I’d like to agree. I’d like to assume that my (other) motto will ring true. Reason will always prevail. But sometimes, I’m not so sure.

And now, here’s a very amusing Betty Bowers video to cleanse your palette of all this depressing shit!

2 Responses to “The @Pontifex throws in his #pallium”

  1. I hope you saw the end of Bill Maher’s new rules tonight. If not
    make sure you do. It was hysterical and of course on point.
    This institution is losing it’s moral and social authority. The sexual
    abuse scandals are part of it but the no premarital sex birth control
    and masterbation party line doesn’t exactly have mainstream
    America shouting where do I sign up! This guy was a former Nazi
    youth, pedophile protector and refered to Rock as evil Satin’s
    music or whatever the Popes are calling these days. Two of the groups he specifically mentioned, Sex Pistols(one of my desert
    island discs) Maryln Manson, no The Beatles and the Eagles.
    This guy was an extreme motherfucker, apologies to our Catholic
    friends His Holyness the motherfucker even for a geriatric old
    world member of the Catholic clergy. If you can get that clip of
    the last new rule and post it that would be awesome. To all,you have
    to watch it (via computer or go to HBO on demand.)It’s a must see!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

