Batshit crazy

This woman was very pleasant to me, despite my barrage of questions and doubts, so I’ll do my best to abstain from ad hominems, but man, this is some of the worst delusion I’ve ever seen.

The following response wasn’t to the specific above video, but it was on the same kind of material.

Your conclusion is a non sequitur. I think the fallacy is called argument from ignorance. “I don’t know what it was, therefore it was God.” You also employ what I think is called the argument ad populi. “Other people have had a similar experience, therefore it is what I think it is.” Ah, and that’s confirmation bias as well. It’s kind of like if I were to wear a rabbit’s foot around my neck and call it a tiger repellant. How do I know it repels tigers? I see no tigers around, do you?

Given that what is called “love” has been proved, as with all emotional and intellectual experiences, to be those of chemical reactions in the brain, I don’t understand how you can claim that this love you felt was beyond human experience. It might be beyond your personal experience, but that doesn’t equal beyond human. I personally have felt things in recent months that I, too, didn’t think possible, but because I felt them, that automatically makes them possible.

I don’t understand your conclusion that this love you felt was beyond the possibility of endorphins. There’s no means of comparison. And, unless you happen to be a neurochemical expert, I’m not sure how you know what endorphins can or cannot produce. I’m no expert myself, but I am aware that everything we experience we do so in the brain based on external stimulus. Some things might seem unlikely to experience within the brain, but that doesn’t mean it’s impossible.

You have no means of comparison of knowing all knowledge, either. And the fact that you say it’s now mostly forgotten tells me that maybe it felt like you had all knowledge, but it’s more likely that it was an impression, or illusion, for lack of a better term.

How do you know that you were capable of processing a trillion upwards toward infinite streams of data? The fact is, infinite is impossible. Your brain would either ignore the overload or be overloaded and shut down. I’ve experienced information overload and what happens is I’m unable to focus and have to constantly re-calibrate my focus.

It seems to me that the most likely conclusion is that yes, something happened, but there is no evidence in what you described to suggest that it was anything other than physical and chemical.

And if it was God, why not ask a few questions? Like, why do you allow natural disasters to occur that slaughter millions? Why is it so hard for us, your creation, to convene with you? Why create us in the first place? Are we alone in the universe, or are there other forms of life?

Etc.

After a long bit, here was her ultiamte response:

Here is your movie promo voice over.

In a world where God does not exist and miracles don’t happen and coincidences have no significance. Ordinary people live in a state of constant fear because their leaders do not share their paradigm. One man seeks to know why!

I am glad you like debate so much because you are really good at it. I am not so much into debate as into making friends and visiting with people. At this point I am feeling frustrated because I thought I answered how and why. It is unfortunate that you are not letting any truth get through your strict criterion for evidence and since you could not say what would be enough evidence I am now at a loss and a little bummed for you. Didnt you see any truth in any of my stories or explanations? I feel just sad about that for a secondOk, Im over it.

Maybe if you give me an example of what you are expecting as an explanation of how I know. I would like to help you get it. Hey, did you believe I was driving a car? Do I have enough credibility to make the claim that I was driving a car? How do I know I was driving the car? I did not have a witness to the fact that I was driving the car. Hmm, it seems very suspect, what did you say in the first comment very dangerous to be driving the car and talking to God. ROFL

God is as all powerful and as all knowing and as all loving as I am saying and really you dont have to wait for anything, you dont have to pray, you dont have to believe, you dont have to let it in, you dont have to open your heart or feel your emotions. There is nothing you should do or have to do. There I go again, making claims. All of these techniques are just SOME OF THE MANY POSSIBLE WAYS to connect that have worked for me and if you feel like it you can try and see if they work for you. Make up your own way. Here is another way: practice paying attention to what people mean, which seems to be something you could work on anyway, just a possible technique to connect.

If you have any inkling of even the faintest possibility that I might just be telling the truth in spite of my obvious inability to explain how I know, try the suggestions you havent tried yet and see what happens.

How do you know it is impossible to prove a negative? Just kidding I dont care.

Dude, I know I am not doing your research for you. You are so lazy, you are all talk and no action, and youre the one who wants evidence. I have what I need.

Regards,
mary

p.s. I killed a tree, you got a problem with that? (with a mobster tone)

And now, my final response:

Hey Mary,

>I am glad you like debate so much because you are really good at it. I am not so much into debate as into making friends and visiting with people.

It’s not that I like to debate. It’s that you and others have made some significant claims about the nature of reality. Reality! Like everything that’s real! Well, since this stuff is so important, I need to know the hows and whys as you’re describing not only this life, but also a possible next one. That’s a very high stake. I think a request of some concrete evidence isn’t too much to ask when all the world’s existence is at stake.

>At this point I am feeling frustrated because I thought I answered how and why.

You said you lost things then found them. I don’t know how that proves the existence of a God. You also said that ancient people knew he existed. That’s not proof either.

>It is unfortunate that you are not letting any truth get through your strict criterion for evidence and since you could not say what would be enough evidence I am now at a loss and a little bummed for you.

Truth? I love how theists use that word. Truth, huh? The only thing I hear that is supposedly truth is that there’s a supernatural entity who’s all-powerful yet either can’t or doesn’t communicate with its creation. How is that truth?

And why not have strict criteria of evidence? If this were a murder trial, you might be saying, “I know he’s innocent! I just know!” Well, that’s your word against the DA’s. Would you call that strict criteria? No, you’d call that the process of law. So why doesn’t the same standard apply to an all-powerful entity?

>Didnt you see any truth in any of my stories or explanations?

I guess I don’t know what you mean by “truth.” And no, I found no abnormal insight.

>Maybe if you give me an example of what you are expecting as an explanation of how I know. I would like to help you get it.

I’m not sure. The problem is you’re describing something that cannot be explained by physical reality. If you were to see leprechauns leap out of your gas tank, I imagine you’d want to know why. Well, what you’re describing sounds a bit like leprechauns leaping out of a gas tank to me. I don’t knwo what would prove it. Maybe if I saw it myself. But even then, I’d first seek to explain it by natural means.

I think if you could reproduce, at-will, that which you describe, that’d help.

>Hey, did you believe I was driving a car?

I’ve seen people drive cars and have been in cars.

>Do I have enough credibility to make the claim that I was driving a car?

It’s a reasonble assumption to make that you’re telling the truth on that.

>How do I know I was driving the car?

Because you were there, but true, I can’t know for certain.

>I did not have a witness to the fact that I was driving the car. Hmm, it seems very suspect, what did you say in the first comment very dangerous to be driving the car and talking to God. ROFL

It is.

>God is as all powerful and as all knowing and as all loving as I am saying and really you dont have to wait for anything, you dont have to pray, you dont have to believe, you dont have to let it in, you dont have to open your heart or feel your emotions. There is nothing you should do or have to do. There I go again, making claims.

Exactly. How do you know any of this to be true? Because you found stuff? That’s a non-sequitur. Just replace “God” with Santa Claus and you’ll see how it sounds to me.

>All of these techniques are just SOME OF THE MANY POSSIBLE WAYS to connect that have worked for me and if you feel like it you can try and see if they work for you. Make up your own way. Here is another way: practice paying attention to what people mean, which seems to be something you could work on anyway, just a possible technique to connect.

I don’t understand how that relates to communicating with God.

>If you have any inkling of even the faintest possibility that I might just be telling the truth in spite of my obvious inability to explain how I know, try the suggestions you havent tried yet and see what happens.

As I said, I did and have. Never heard or felt anything. So I guess God just doesn’t want to talk to me. Don’t know what I did to alienate him, but it must’ve been pretty serious.

>How do you know it is impossible to prove a negative? Just kidding I dont care.

I’ll tell you anyway. It’s impossible because there’s no proof of something not existing. Take the Easter Bunny. How do you prove that he doesn’t exist? I guess you could search every inch of the globe around Easter to see if there aren’t any appearances, but that’s a pretty exhaustive expenditure of time and money.

That’s why I said the burden of proof is on your shoulders. You make claim X. You have to back up claim X with evidence Y. Otherwise, there’s no reason to believe your claim. And this applies to any claim. Ultimately, you can’t prove that you were driving in your car when you felt God; however, it’s a reasonable claim to make. It’s reasonable for me to assume that yes, you were driving your car. If, however, you claimed that you were flying like Superman when it happened, I would need evidence because, in my and all other human experience, flying like Superman is impossible.

>Dude, I know I am not doing your research for you. You are so lazy, you are all talk and no action, and youre the one who wants evidence. I have what I need.

You don’t know I’m all talk and no action. You only know about me what I’ve told you. Both of those are assumptions.

No! You killed a tree! Poor tree! 🙂

She didn’t respond. Sigh.

One Response to “Batshit crazy”

  1. […] cite personal experience. And yet almost every time it’s something really fucking lame, like “I couldn’t find my car keys, prayed, then found them, therefore, every claim religion m… Or, “When I pray, I feel good, therefore every claim religion makes is absolutely […]

Leave a Reply

