Ug. Fucking circular logic.

Yay for my format!

>I am telling you my life experiences. These are facts. You must not understand.

A life experience doesn’t equal a fact.

>I tell you life experiences that I had. That’s the evidence I use.

Having seemingly prophetic dreams and feelings when you pray doesn’t equal those being caused by a god. And even if it did, it doesn’t equal the Christian god. It’s just as likely that any other god provided those experiences.

Evidence is something that can be independently and repeatedly verified by an objective party. Having feelings while you pray cannot be objectively verified. It’s more likely that you’re experiencing sensations through your pleasure center (which can be objectively verified) than through a supernatural being.

>You should believe it because the same thing you choose not to believe could end up dragging you down to hell. You would be sorry you never listened.

Again, the existence of a hell and what drags people there is an assumption. Why are you right about a hell and the Jews are wrong? Or the ancient Greeks? You have no evidence for your belief in hell.

>God is not equivalent to the Easter Bunny.

They’re both made up, have magical powers, and cannot be disproved. Try it. Prove that the Easter Bunny doesn’t exist. It’s impossible.

>The thing about the whole appearing thing is that he is so powerful that if we were to see him we would die because his glory would make us mad to death.

First, how do you know that? Second, if he’s all-powerful, supposedly he can appear in a form that would not drive us mad.

>There is a thing called faith for a reason. Faith is not faith if you seen him already. Faith is knowing without seeing.

How do you know without seeing? Again, if faith is all you’re going to base your beliefs on then why not believe in the Flying Spaghetti Monster? There’s just as much evidence to the existence of the Flying Spaghetti Monster as a god.

Furthermore, I don’t understand why faith is a good thing. What we know is based on verifiable evidence. Once we realize a theory is wrong, we let go of that theory. What’s the value of believing something without evidence? Like I said before, why not believe anything about anything? Why don’t you believe in Santa Claus? Why don’t you believe in LImbo? Why don’t you believe in Valhalla? How about Atlantis? Each of these has just as much evidence to support it as everything you insist is real.

>He is powerful

How do you know?

>that is why you should worry that your assumptions that God doesn’t exist jump the gun. His powerful punishment will be too much for you.

How do you know?

-Good realisation. It supports why you desperately need to seek God. God is believable to me because it is a fact he exists.

You don’t know that.

> “I felt him touch me.” There was nobody else in the room.

What, did he breathe on you? Did you play Scrabble with him? Did he give you a backrub? “I felt him touch me” can mean many things.

>These sensations are happening while nobody is there.

What is the sensation?

>You are trying to question everything you can when you know what I’m talking about.

Of course I am. You’re telling me I’ll go to hell if I don’t get it right.

🍸 don’t know the context here. You mean people should not wear clothes of different fibers? Or do you mean that people shouldn’t beat their slaves so hard that the slaves die in the same day?

>These are both trends. You understand now?

Sorry, no. I’ve read bits of the Bible that give very specific instructions on things like diet and slavery. Do you follow those things? If not, why not?

>The afterlife. Honestly I shouldn’t have to say that.

If you mean “afterlife,” then say “afterlife.”

>All people that I know that do drugs are unhappy about it after a years of doing it. I did drugs before, these are people that I know about.

Fair enough, but you said it right there. “These are the people I know about.” Therefore your assumption is based only on your own experience. That’s not quantifiable.

>Again I do experience this. It’ll be just a little 3-5 secs that I saw in my dreams. One time I was looking at a Hotel in Savannah, GA that I’ve never seen before in my dreams and in a weeks time I saw this same location. I didn’t even know the location. I’ve never been to Savannah, GA until then. It mostly isn’t really important occurences but it is there. It proves fate. It proves that we must go through certain things that are predetermined. It is not a matter of probability that events happen.

If what you say is true, and assuming it can be verified, then I agree it’s an extraordinary experience. Whether it proves fate I don’t know. And if it does, that also proves that free will doesn’t exist for if you’re predetermined, you have no choice. Beyond that, though, your extraordinary experience doesn’t equal god’s existence. And even if it did, it doesn’t equal the Christian god’s existence.

>I say this because I’m telling you a fact not an opinion.

If you mean your sensations and dreams, that can’t be verified and so ins’t proof.

>-(Read the bible.)
>I have.
>You’ve read the whole bible?

Not cover to cover, but I’ve read everything I’ve been told to read and more. Have you read the entire thing cover to cover?

>Have you prayed to God that you would recieve full understanding when you read what you read as well.

I did as a kid. I received no contact. But that’s beside the point. If god is all-powerful, why doesn’t he just make what I need to understand easy to understand without the requirement of prayer? More to the point, why didn’t he guide the composition of the entire text in such a way that full understanding would be a given, without the benefit of prayer?

>You won’t understand it without that.

How do you know?

>Have you just read a couple pages and called it the entire bible?

I’ve read more than a couple. But let’s pretend I’ve read the whole thing, what amazing wisdom have you understood through your prayer and reading the Bible cover to cover that I haven’t?

>-It tells you things you won’t get.
>Such as?

>You’d know it if you really read it.

That’s a cop-out. You can either tell me or you can’t. And the fact is you can claim this infinitely. If I read it and come to
understanding X, all you have to say is I didn’t read it correctly. If I try again, you can make the same claim. Over and over.

>You are pushing to oppose God. You do not want to acknowledge he is real.

That’s because I have no reason to!

> This is why I believe what I believe.

You didn’t answer my questions. Why don’t you believe in Vishnu or Thor or the Flying Spaghetti Monster?

Leave a Reply

