Woo hoo!

This got my blood pumping!

“first off its not my intention to get into a debate with u over the existence of God because well that would take us nowhere very fast. but thats always what really gets to me. i may not agree with whatever it is that u believe in but at the very least i still give u the common courtesy as to not insult ur beliefs regardless of how ever i feel about them.”

My response:

It is not my obligation to grant your superstitious nonsense courtesy just as it is not my obligation to grant courtesy to those who believe that the world is flat or believe in magic, or witches, or the Loch Ness monster. It is only my obligation to respect your right to believe your made-up nonsense. Given that I’ve never attempted to pass a law that tells you what to do based solely on my unverifiable beliefs, my obligation is fulfilled.

“Man, see some folks say, “All truth is relative, it just depends on what you believe.” You know, “hey man, ain’t no way to know for sure who God is or what’s really true.” But that means you believe your own statement; that there’s no way to know what’s really true. You’re saying that that statement is true. You’re killing yourself. If what’s true for you is true for you and what’s true for me is true for me, what if my truth says your’s is a lie? Is it still true? -Lecrae, Truth”

Me:

Some folks would be wrong. Not all theories are equal. You don’t believe that the Flying Spaghetti Monster is real. We know that atoms exist because we’ve found verifiable evidence of their existence. There’s no debate on that. It’s not relative. Atoms are. End of story. If we can’t know something, no one has the right to call his version “truth.” And those who make a claim bear the burden of proof in backing it up. The claim is “there’s a god, etc.” Fair enough. Back it up.

“n btw…if you think about it…if we as humans are a perfect design then who is our designer? chance? think about it…who is man that God must go to such great pains to prove himself to us?…God doesnt hide himself so that he cannot be found..he hides himself so that he can be found…stop making excuses and just say you don’t want to hav anything to do with God…the truth has to be revealed sooner or later…”

Me:

It is an assumption that humans are a perfect design. Given as many flaws as one can find in any of us, it’s a poor assumption. An omnipotent being should have no trouble revealing itself in such a way as to prove its existence beyond doubt. Why would an omnipotent being hide itself at all? I’ve made no excuses, but you’re right. I have no desire to have anything to do with the god as described in the Bible and the Q’oran. I don’t see why this god is waiting to reveal itself.

“lol every time i hear somebody say or argue God’s existence it makes me laugh, these people are so articulate and eloquent and often very intelligent and yet my 9 year old brother can stand up and tell anyone of these people why he knows God is real…all it takes is a little bit of faith “as small as a mustard seed”….but the bible spoke about all of this so its pointless trying to argue it. I am living breathing proof that God is real & so are these ppl…they just refuse to acknowledge it…”

Me:

It’s a shame your brother is so delusional. Does he still believe in Santa Claus or the Easter Bunny? If not, why not? There’s just as much evidence to their existence as to a god. Faith is ridiculous. Faith can justify any belief. Why do you not also believe in pink unicorns? How are you living proof that a god is real? I will happily and readily acknowledge the existence of any god for whom there is a shred of evidence.

3 Responses to “Woo hoo!”

  1. I was studying something else about this on another blog. Interesting. Your linear perspective on it is diametrically contradicted to what I read in the first place. I am still reflecting over the diverse points of view, but I’m tipped heavily toward yours. And regardless, that’s what is so superb about modernized democracy and the marketplace of thoughts on-line.

  2. I was studying something else about this on another blog. Interesting. Your linear perspective on it is diametrically contradicted to what I read in the first place. I am still mulling over the different points of view, but I’m inclined heavily toward yours. And irrespective, that’s what is so great about modernized democracy and the marketplace of ideas online.

    • antonahill Says:

      Hey Kraut-Sadger,

      I dunno if you’re two people or just spam, but I’ll pretend you’re real. Thanks for dropping by. And thanks for inclining my way.

      Best,

      Anton.

Leave a Reply

