Alcoholics Anonymous is bullshit (redux)!

I got this from commentor AntiChristianLeague.

“I attended AA meetings for six months after I quit drinking. I left because there wasn’t a single meeting that at some point didn’t deteriorate into up front bible thumping.

“I was also not very keen on the idea of willingly calling myself a ‘victim’ of my addiction. I chose to put myself in that crappy place, I can bloody well choose to work towards something better. And I have.

“The whole idea of ‘powerlessness’ in AA is just an attempt to weaken one’s resolve against religious indoctrination. You take people who are obviously hurting, tell them that this ‘god’ guy can totally help them, and that they are otherwise worthless and unable to live a normal life, and most people fall for it.”

–AntiChristianLeague

As I told Anti, Bible-thumping was never part of my experience, though it doesn’t surprise me that it was a part of Anti’s. Once you introduce God into shit, people tend to feel justified in saying or doing whatever the fuck they want around Him. What Anti says about choice is totally true. People choose to get themselves into a situation, they can bloody well choose to get themselves out. No higher power, steps, or even group therapy required. And to claim otherwise is a fucking bullshit lie.

11 Responses to “Alcoholics Anonymous is bullshit (redux)!”

  1. I am very flattered and somewhat surprised that you chose to make my comment into its own post.

    Regarding choices…. It can be so easy to fall into the habit of making decisions that impact ones self negatively. And after a time of doing so, the possibility of turning things around seems nearly impossible. That is where the “god” concept appears. I had seen it numerous times in AA meetings, and even in day to day life. Shit, I’ve even had momentary “conversions” when locked up somewhere with nothing to do but play witness to my thoughts, and to the choices I had made.

    Yet I have come to realize, through owning up to my mistakes and taking responsibility for my actions, that “god” has no true relation to an individual’s choices and character. So many people use the idea of a higher power as a crutch, assuming that they cannot stand on their own. When the reality is that they are perfectly capable of doing so. They just haven’t tried.

    • Anton A. Hill Says:

      No problem! I thought it was quite well put. It’s so true what you say about a crutch. I’ve been conversing with this Christian woman who keeps claiming that she couldn’t possibly do blah blah without the Holy Spirit. I feel like yelling at her, “Take responsibility for your actions and credit for your accomplishments!”

      • That last sentence is about as truthful as it gets. I’ve ended up in many circular arguments debating the merits of personal responsibility vs. the guidance of god, all of which have made it starkly clear that there is a pervading fear of acknowledging oneself as the determining factor in any given course of action. In so many cases this fear is even a matter of deep pride. It all just seems to contradictory to the goal of living one’s life. If you are convinced that there is somebody up in the clouds somewhere calling all the shots, can you even be said to be living? Sounds more like a puppet show to me.

  2. Anton A. Hill Says:

    A puppet show! Exactly! I think also, that many religious have been indoctrinated to believe that if they take credit for their accomplishments, that’s arrogance, and if they take responsibility for their actions, that’s, well, responsible. And nobody wants that!

  3. I had the unfortunate experience of being introduced to the cult of AA via our wonderful court system. Fortunately I was wise enough to see right through all the bullshit. I did my research and discovered the fact that AA has little to do with curbing ones addiction/s and a wholel lot to do with sin and redeption christian conversion. AA by it’s own data has a success rate of 2-5%. People who quit or cut down on their own boast a 7% or higher success rate depending on which studies you believe.

    • Anton A. Hill Says:

      The court-mandated attendance of AA is one of my big problems with it. As an effectively religious organization, AA shouldn’t enjoy endorsement. And the fact that attendance is mandatory in some states really crawls up my sphincter. I was lucky in my exposure to AA wasn’t about Christianity or conversion or anything like that. I simply had an issue with the system claiming that 1. there is a higher power and 2. that people must follow it/are powerless over alcohol. The first of those is undemonstrable and the second is demonstrably false.

      • Deborah McGrath Says:

        Hi Anton, The freedom of (or actually what the Founding Fathers really personally wanted from ) religion is a very important founding principle of American society and law.
        Religion, as retarded as it is, does offer some social, structural
        and psychological benefits. Of course these things could
        easily be found outside the realm of socially coerced
        retarded fairy tails. FYI , if you haven’t, I’m sure you have,
        check out or revisit the brilliant Religulous from Bill Maher.
        That being said, I strongly believe that presenting this non scientific scam as a treatment model is beyond obscene.
        This is not mental health care. It is criminal. Generally speaking people who drink to excess have underlying psychological
        and circumstantial issues. These realities, because of AA,
        go untreated and unexplored. Sorry Anton I know you like to
        keep a civil tone which is admirable but FUCK YOU BILL
        WILSON YOU WERE AN EVIL CON MAN !!! There are real
        models of clinical treatment rooted in science and clinical
        data. Shame on you American Medical, Legal and Judicial
        Establishments for blindly accepting this snake oil at
        face value. Are you Mormons ? Happy New Year Everyone !

  4. D. W. Dorrance Says:

    I wonder if it’s possible for the author to use words other than, “fuck”, “shit” or “bullshit”. Pretty limited vocabulary which puts a real negative on the point he or she is attempting to make.

    • How is the vocabulary used relevant to the point? Sometimes bs-bombs are fun to drop. 🙂

      • Deborah McGrath Says:

        Hi Anton, I try to be civil but I dropped a b-bomb and I hope it was at least amusing. I hope it also exposed the dishonesty
        and aggressive behavior of these 12 step bullies. The die hard members of this dangerous cult get very nasty. They are trying to defend something irrational. This cults presence in our courts,, health care system and culture is as you would say bullshit. Lives are really being damaged by this fraud.

    • Deborah McGrath Says:

      My comment displayed impressive vocabulary and writing skills.
      Your pathetic pseudo critique, an obvious lame defense against
      the indefensible idiocy of 12 steps, is transparent. Gosh, are you by chance a member of this evil cult. Fuck you douchebag.

Leave a Reply

