My video “my de-conversion story|DEVELOPMENT DIARY 1” is live on #YouTube!

It’s also linked under My Media.

2 Responses to “My video “my de-conversion story|DEVELOPMENT DIARY 1” is live on #YouTube!”

  1. I feel like i’m losing my faith, and that’s why I started a blog.

    • Anton A. Hill Says:

      Hey Bible Reader,

      Thanks for dropping by. I’m not sure what to tell you, but I do have a couple of questions for you:

      1. What do you believe?
      2. Why?
      3. How do you know?

      These may not seem profound at all, but I think you’ll find that a believer in anything unsupported by evidence has a hard time answering them. For example, I was indoctrinated into believing that crystals had healing powers. That answers question 1. Had you asked me when I believed in the healing power of crystals why I did, I probably wouldn’t have been able to tell you. The honest answer would’ve been, “Because my parents told me so.” But then that leads immediately to question 3. How did I know that crystals had healing powers? I couldn’t have told you anything. I think the most I could’ve mustered would’ve been something like, “Because my mom told me,” or, “Because there’s this guru in India who said they do,” or anything along those lines. What I would NOT have been able to do is provide one shred of evidence for the belief that crystals have healing powers. Nothing testable, reproducible, or falsifiable.

      I’m not gonna tell you, “Don’t believe.” Nor am I gonna tell you, “Become an atheist.” But I do encourage you to answer yourself the above three questions and be as honest with yourself as you can be. And any answer you come up with, any evidence you find, try to test it, reproduce it, or falsify it. If you can’t, or if your evidence looks awfully similar to some kind of logical fallacy or emotional appeal, you may want to reconsider it.

      Finally, I took a look at your blog and appreciated the sincerity with which you seemed to express yourself. I plan on dropping by again soon.

Leave a Reply

