Thank you, #GenerationXeroFilms, for your “Black Christians: America’s Biggest Hypocrites” video!

Back in ’08, I was shocked and disgusted to hear about the passing of Prop 8 in CA (I was in OR at the time). I asked out loud, “Who would vote for this??” At first, I thought, “Fucking religious assholes!” then I heard about statistical data showing that not only was it religious assholes, but primarily ethnic minority religious assholes.

That’s right. Blacks, Latinos, and Asians.

I was sorely disappointed with the African-American community. It hadn’t been that long, only a couple of decades, since it had been illegal for blacks to drink from the same water fountain as I. It hadn’t been that long since blacks couldn’t legally marry blokes like I.

What a nauseating betrayal.

Then the rationalizations poured in. “Homosexuality is a choice!” Let’s pretend, for a moment, that it is. Let’s pretend that it has nothing to do with genetics, hormones, upbringing, or any other ultimately non-elective factor. How the fuck does that give anyone the right to legislate their religious bullshit preventing gays from marrying??

Seriously, let’s say that every awkward teenager who would normally be heterosexual made the conscious decision to become gay. Let’s say that’s what’s happened in every single case in all of human history. How does that give anyone the right to legislate against it?

I’ve been a little reticent to share my views on this pretty much because I’m a white, male, heterosexual who knows nothing of what it’s like to be black in this country. Which is why I’m so glad that GenerationXeroFilms DOES know:

6 Responses to “Thank you, #GenerationXeroFilms, for your “Black Christians: America’s Biggest Hypocrites” video!”

  1. “Let’s say that’s what’s happened in every single case in all of human history. How does that give anyone the right to legislate against it?”

    Absa bloody lutely! I’ve been thinking this exact thing for years. Who cares if it is a choice? Why should you or I give a rats arse? If I wish to make a life style choice that does not impact on others, why should anyone care?

    • Anton A. Hill Says:

      Hey Guy,

      Thanks for dropping by. I still wouldn’t go so far as calling it a “lifestyle” choice. I love playing video games. That’a lifestyle choice. I have sex with women (er, a woman) because it’s a biological imperative. Big difference.

      If you have a de-conversion story, drop it on me!

      Best,

      Anton.

  2. G’day Anton,
    I didn’t mean to imply that I thought that same sex attraction was a choice (I don’t believe it is). Just that its no ones business even IF it was.

    Sorry, no de-conversion story for me. I was raised in a atheist/agnostic household and have always thought the idea of a god to be a strange one – never saw the need of it.

    • Anton A. Hill Says:

      Hey Guy,

      Pardon me. I get sick of terms like “lifestyle” choice when they’re constantly flung about by the right.

      Good on your family. I was close to that, but not close enough.

      You must be in the UK or Australia as they both seem to be predominantly secular.

      Any YouTube channel or blog I should know about?

      Best,

      Anton.

  3. Neil Reinhardt Says:

    THIS MACHO ALPHA HETROSEXUAL 81 YR. OLD, HIGH IQ, MALE SEZ: ANYONE WHO THINKS IT IS A CHOICE IS EITHER A PROGRAMMED RELIGIOUS ROBOT, OR IS TOO LAZY TO GET THE FACTS AND MOST PROBABLY NOT BRIGHT ENOUGH TO TO FULLY UNDERSTAND THE FACTS IF THEY DID GET THEM.

  4. Neil Reinhardt Says:

    OPPS, I AM ALSO A WHITE, AGNOSTIC ATHEIST ACTIVIST AND A 1983 CO-FOUNDER OF ATHEISTS UNITED.

Leave a Reply

