All dressed up in my #AWeek tux and tie!

In case you hadn't noticed, I'm an atheist. And I'm out. So I'm an out atheist. Carry on.

In case you hadn’t noticed, I’m an atheist. And I’m out. So I’m an out atheist. Carry on.

I completely forgot about this until I saw someone else already posting the li’l pic. I also saw A-News co-founder Lee Moore suggest ideas for “celebrating” A-Week. While I in principle think that’s a great idea, I doubt I’ll do anything other than the usual.

I also feel slightly silly for having posted the pic. Of all my friends and acquaintances on Facebook and in real life, they’re mostly either out atheists or they don’t care. Thus, for me, being out and even being out to the degree where my profile picture celebrates that fact aren’t such a big deal.

At the same time, I’ve always felt that it’s important for us outies to be out so that those who aren’t feel safer in being so. And in two cases, this has already proved to be true.

So while my posting of the above pic doesn’t necessarily in itself accomplish much, hopefully the sea of them that we’re all posting will help at least one person feel safer.

Happy A-Week!

Leave a Reply

