It’s official: I’ve deleted #atheist podcasts (w/ exceptions). @anewsteam @ffzpodcast @reapsowradio

Donkeys years ago, I was a member of American Atheists and a subscriber to their newsletter. This was before Dave Silverman’s regime. It was the days of Judge Roy Moore’s Ten Commandments monument placement. I delighted every time I saw that atom logo in the mail. I couldn’t wait to devour the contents inside. News, updates, and articles on all things atheist.

Concurrently, I suffered from this very odd psychological condition. Once a month, almost to the day, I got really, really pissed off and frustrated. It’d last a few days or even up to a week. It was really unpleasant, really uncomfortable, and I desperately wanted it to go away.

Wait a minute.

I know what you’re thinking: correlation/causation fallacy. Normally, I’d assume there was some validity to that except that the days on which I got really pissed off always corresponded with the days I received AA’s publication. Reading the AA newsletter was pissing me off!

I don’t blame AA at all. They were just doing their job. But for me, it became exhausting. As much as I cared about (and still do) atheist issues, the newsletter was kind of taking over my emotional life.

I unsubscribed.

Or perhaps more accurately, I let my subscription run out. I was no longer clockwork pissed off. Success!

Let’s flash forward a few years. It’s around ’08 and I’m downloading every last atheist podcast I can store on my li’l iPhone. The topics range from debunking the religious to church/state separation issues to commiseration.

Then elevatorgate happened.

No, I am NOT blaming Rebecca Watson for this. Remember, I’ve on multiple occasions publicly supported her (initially) in that whole mess. No, no. This isn’t on her. It’s on all those who (myself included) took a giant diarrhea dump down each others’ throats for everything from elevatorgate to rape apologetics to whatever the fuck else you wanna throw in there.

For years now it’s been asshat this and too-ugly-to-rape that and I’m fucking sick of it. And that’s not all. I started to realize that I was getting really sick of all non-bullshit-related topics. I was just sick of the whole fucking thing.

Judge Roy Moore all over again.

I mentioned this a few weeks ago here:

But I’ve taken it a step further. Not only did I unsubscribe from a bunch of podcasts, but a few days ago, I even deleted old episodes of some of those that I’d intended to listen to at some point. Even some very, very famous ones. Fuck it. Tired of it. Delete.

Never felt better.

Okay, no, that’s total bullshit. There are plenty of times I’ve felt better, but in this context nope. Not only do I not regret deleting old episodes, but I’m also relieved. They’re not there and I don’t care.

But for the exceptions I listed above (and maybe a couple of others), I’m done. And honestly, it’s not like Full Frontal and Reap Sow never get into the bullshit, but at least they both make me laugh. (Oh, and A-News is cool too.) A lot to be said for entertainment value.

8 Responses to “It’s official: I’ve deleted #atheist podcasts (w/ exceptions). @anewsteam @ffzpodcast @reapsowradio”

  1. Funny! I wonder which one’s you cut? It is good to purge the mediocre podcast from time to time. (especially when my Ipod only works when plugged in now!) I had to cut the strings on Cognitive Dissonance. Nothing against them, they were just not my cup of tea(good on other shows though). Full frontal says they are the same as CD, but I have a special place in my heart(bias) for the Aussies.

  2. No need to tell, I figured you were going to be polite about it. 🙂 I am not slamming CD either. I like them. Just the show format was not what I had time for or could deal with a lot. They are good on a show called Incredulous. (skeptic show)

    • One of my current faves has an odd format so I just skim past the part I’m not interested in. I’ve never heard of Incredulous. I’m sure there’s plenty of shows I haven’t heard of. That damn time thing, though. And not wanting to be constantly pissed off.

  3. Incredulous is a british skeptic/comedy show they do monthly (at the most) so it is not hard to keep up with. They bring in different skeptics and play games. It’s kind of dry funny.(British funny)

  4. […] I’m a giant hypocrite. Shocker, I know. Many moons ago, I declared I wouldn’t listen to any more atheist podcasts, with only a few […]

Leave a Reply

