“vlog|12 3 13” #DragonCon, #HemantMehta, #RebeccaWatson, #SkepChick, #EdKramer

This came completely out of the fucking blue. I was reading Deadline.com, as I often do, and I saw this picture of a really creepy guy in what looked like a neck brace. Bad facial hair, droopy eyes. I prejudicially thought this was some serial killer who’d finally been caught.

Not far off.

I then saw the headline. The words “DragonCon” and “co-founder” immediately leapt off the page. If you know anything about this, you already know the story, but if you don’t, the brief version is this: one of the co-founders of DragonCon, Ed Kramer, first allegedly, now convicted-ly, is a pedophile. Not only that terrible news, but he used the money he got from the con as a co-founder, about $150K a year, to fund his legal defense–for about 13 years. That’s right. If you attended or spoke at DragonCon any time during that time, you contributed to a pedophile’s stay-out-of-jail money.

I know, I know. You didn’t know. Set aside the fact that Kramer’s first allegation and arrest were made in 2000 and are public knowledge.

But still!

I have the luxury of never having attended the con, but some awfully vocal so-called social justices, like Rebecca Watson, now claim (linked on the YouTube video page) that hey, you can’t win ’em all, right? I mean, if you were to boycott everything that directly funds pedophiles’ legal defenses, shit, you’d never leave the house.

As I mention in the video, let’s see if I get this moral spectrum correct. Boycott Richard Dawkins because he–chuckle–made fun of you. Don’t boycott the con that funds a pedophile because–snicker–you can’t win ’em all.

Right.

Leave a Reply

