Random thoughts for Friday @DuckDynastyAE @AETV @happiestatheist @rushlimbaugh

So I saw the news first on Twitter.

I tweeted my answer.

And I stand by that, but I feel troubled by the whole thing and I’m having difficulty identifying why. There’s the obvious. Mr. Duck is a homophobe and being paid, to some degree, for it. But honestly, it’s not that big of a deal to me. Rush Limbaugh is a documented asshole and he’s paid for it. Doesn’t bother me at all. I think it’s the whole “tolerance” word. The word’s bothered me for over a decade now, ever since it gained in popularity in the vernacular. I understand the sentiment. We should accept those who are different from us. Honestly, at the time that it started to gain in popularity, I had a problem with the connotation of “putting up with” as opposed to completely accepting. I mean, what good is putting up with someone? It doesn’t fundamentally change anything. A racist could theoretically “tolerate” a person of a different race. It accomplishes nothing. The more useful thing is for the racist to explore his racism and come to an understanding as to why he’s racist to begin with.

New paragraph. My further issue with “tolerance” is it’s completely dishonest. We don’t actually mean we should tolerate everyone’s differences. We don’t hold tolerance for pedophiles, rapists, and murderers. We don’t insist that we just empathize with them. We out-right despise them and seek to punish them. This tolerance inconsistency became clear when, after Mr. Duck’s initial statement about gays, it was further revealed that he trivialized Jim Crow laws. So at first all the conservatives were crying foul over liberals’ lack of tolerance, then they, too, jumped on the Duck for his racist comment.

It’s all such bullshit. Fact is, we “tolerate” that which is socially acceptable and we don’t that which isn’t. It’s socially unacceptable to be a public racist. It’s still somewhat socially acceptable to be a homophobe. Both can be backed with the Bible, as the Mormons did for decades before God revealed to them he wasn’t cool with it anymore. But it’s still reasonable in some social circles to support one’s homophobia with scripture.

I guess I just hate bullshit. Maybe that’s all. I wish we were more honest about this whole situation. And A+E pisses me off. Yes, they’re a private corporation who can employ–or disemploy–whomever the fuck they want, and for whatever reason. I guess I’m annoyed because

  1. they knew about Mr. Duck’s beliefs and had no problem with it until he expressed them, then
  2. suspended him, presumably taking the high moral ground, but
  3. they then said, oh, hey, never mind.

So, then, what was the point? I know, truly, it was about money, and I don’t fault them for that, but in terms of PR, it just seems like a big, ol’ clusterfuck.

Unrelated, I’ve finally decided what to do with my uploaded, but still unannounced, vlog entries. Three months’ worth. I’m gonna post one long thing on here with every single one of them in one massive archive. Minimal description. Maybe just keywords. Then if anyone wants to, he can watch them all in one fell swoop. And then I’ll be caught up.

Okay, I’m done.

Leave a Reply

