Happy #JewishLichDay w/ a card from @epicentrewestla!

The last several years, I’ve celebrated Easter Sunday by doing other stuff. Any excuse to celebrate is a good excuse. To be honest, I’ve always enjoyed the more secular/Pagan traditions of Easter–the bunnies, the eggs, etc.–so the idea of continuing some sort of celebration wasn’t a foreign idea.

The “other stuff” has basically become some sort of brunch, though this has been on-off, and mini-golf.

You read that right.

It happened one year randomly. The suggestion came up and that’s what we went with. This year, since I chose not to schedule a hangout for later today (long story there), I knew we’d have the whole afternoon. That’s plenty of time for mini-golf.

Earlier yesterday, after a day of Olvera Street (haven’t been since grad school) and MOCA (never been), we returned home to find these cards waiting for us on top of our mailboxes:

A couple of things I noticed immediately… While it does say “Easter brunch” and while “Easter” is obviously almost always used in a Christian context, it’s increasingly become more secular so I (perhaps stupidly) assumed it was sort of a family event sponsored by the city, not a church event. Second thing, nowhere on it does it say anything about a church.

Why is that?

Do the cats at Epicentre have something to hide? And why’s it called “Epicentre” anyway? That’s a misleading, if not downright dishonest, term to use for a church. “Epicentre,” especially with the British spelling, can connote any general civic idea (or even the heart of a disaster–the epicentre of a storm).

Due to the above, and to the fact that it takes place in a public park, I decided to look up the event.

Shocker: It’s a church. In fact affiliated with the Antioch Waco, TX church, which means… nothing to me.

Here’s an interesting thing, though. You know how for the past several decades, the evangelical movement has used terms like “born again” or “feeling the spirit” or whatever else? Not so anymore, it seems. I found stuff like:

“…and ascended bodily into heaven as our Priest and Advocate.”

“Advocate”? Jesus is a lawyer now? Seriously, I’ve never seen Christ referred to that way.

“We believe in the principle of separation of Church and State, guaranteeing an individual’s freedom to choose one’s own faith.”

That I didn’t expect and I wonder if this is just lip service or if they really mean it.

“We believe in the bodily resurrection of the believer and of the non-believer, and in the everlasting blessedness of the believer and the everlasting conscious punishment of the non-believer.”

I’m confused. I thought traditional Christian doctrine was that the nonbeliever wasn’t resurrected. But whatever, maybe I’ve gotten that wrong. More to the point, what’s this “everlasting conscious punishment” bullshit? What, Christians don’t say “Hell” anymore? Centuries of terrible PR have finally taken their toll? Seriously, I don’t get it. If you think nonbelievers are going to Hell, why don’t you just say that?

Then there’s this fun tidbit:

I don’t get modern Christian culture. Why is it always lame, acoustic guitar music? Always? Seriously?

My musical criticism notwithstanding, we’re honestly tempted to check this shit out. Too bad it’s at 10:30am on a fucking Sunday.

So hey, Epicentre, thanks for the pretty card. Though I’ve been advised against it, I’d love to do a hangout with your pastor or whomever else some day. Happy Jewish Lich Day, but we’ll be mini-golfing.

One Response to “Happy #JewishLichDay w/ a card from @epicentrewestla!”

  1. […] one was quite different. Due to the fact that this past Sunday was Jewish Lich Day, I took the day off in terms of hangouts since I’d already recorded this one with […]

Leave a Reply

