Random shit for Friday (#triggerwarning: #bullshit)

I’m seriously gotta take a break from Twitter. I whined about this in my hangout with Frank Skiff. I swear I see something on Twit and Facebook almost every day that pisses me off.

And not even religious shit.

I’m gonna name some names so if you don’t like that, or a ramble fest, go away.

First up, @infuriousbeauty on Twitter told me blah blah misogyny, blah blah, I’m male, therefore STFU. I don’t give a shit when total random strangers tell me to STFU. I actually find it pretty amusing. What irritated me was that she said that criticism of her point (which was some bullshit on males and misogyny) was invalidating to her as a woman.

Right.

Think whatever bullshit you want on the world being run by a patriarchic cabal of misogynists (who hate women). To some small degree, I don’t really care. Crazy is as crazy is. But to equate calling bullshit on bullshit to invalidation… is bullshit. No one, and I even mean us evil white, male, heterosexuals, gets to spew bullshit and be granted a pass because, you know, criticism of one’s bullshit •feels• like invalidation. If I invalidate you, you’ll know. It’ll sound something like, “You’re fucking stupid.” Or, “You’re invalid.” Or, “Shut the fuck up.”

I said none of those.

I questioned the validity of her point/claim. Granted, such questioning may feel uncomfortable, but that’s not my responsibility.

I then asked if, per her reasoning, as a gimp, do I get to say whatever the fuck I want and call anyone ableist who dares call out my bullshit?

Piss, moan, whine.

Here come the names! Yesterday, I see a F’book post by Dave Muscato in which he says he heard someone tell a sexist joke and, gee, what’s to be done? Better call the motherfuckers out on their misogyny!!

I like Dave. He rocks that goatee like nobody (except maybe The Rock). But what the fuck? First, and this annoyed the hell out of me, Dave equated “sexism” with “misogyny.” No, he didn’t literally say, “These two are equal,” but he used them equally. As synonyms.

They’re not.

And I’ll prove they’re not. From dictionary.com:

Misogyny: hatred, dislike, or mistrust of women.

Sexism: 1. attitudes or behavior based on traditional stereotypes of sexual roles. 2. discrimination or devaluation based on a person’s sex, as in restricted job opportunities; especially, such discrimination directed against women.

Granted, “devaluation” enters the territory loosely bordering the desert of “hatred,” but it’s not equal thereto.

And yes, I know, an appeal to a dictionary is essentially an appeal to authority; however dictionaries are archives of occurring linguistic phenomena. When languages change, dictionaries reflect that.

And yes, I’m aware that Australia up and decided that “misogyny” and “sexism” are, in fact, synonyms. That’s a separate linguistic discussion, but for now I’ll just say: bullshit.

Back to Muscato. I have a sincere question for you, Dave. Do you care as much about fact as your very public atheism would seem to presume? Because you don’t seem to. You seem to embrace at least two terms (possibly more) and their misuse… because fuck accuracy.

But that’s a small issue. My greater concern with Dave’s post was that he then went on to say how he wasn’t gonna back down from calling people out for sexist/misogynist jokes.

Okay.

I called bullshit on where he drew his line and how he decided that’s where it should be drawn.

Then fucking Penn Jillette stole my goddamn thunder. 🙂 He basically schooled Dave on who the fuck is he to say anything about humor?? (I’ll re-post if I can.)

I mean, seriously, Dave. Honestly. I totally get that there is humor out there that even I would consider in poor taste. But man is it a fuzzy, gray area that whole “taste” thing. What would I do if someone told what I considered a really offensive joke? I don’t know. I wonder, though, what will you, or anyone else do with these?

Q: What’s the first thing a blonde says when she wakes up?
A: Are all you guys on the same football team?

Q: What does Helen Keller do when she falls off a cliff?
A: •Miming fanatic hand-shaking•

Both are in poor taste. Both I find hilarious. Yes, even as a gimp.

Finally, and this is minimal, I saw reference to somebody on Freethought Blogs whom I’d never heard of. The headline was something about sexism and jokes.

Seriously, when the fuck did jokes become the Great Satan??

I didn’t even bother. To quote a billion shrieking social justice warriors, “I don’t need you to tell me what I should find funny.”

3 Responses to “Random shit for Friday (#triggerwarning: #bullshit)”

  1. Don’t flounce from Twitter Anton. That leaves more jack asses with appeals to emotion and oversensitivities. People don’t change their minds instantly and think of their followers that will be able to hear a contrary opinion, instead of their social justice echo chamber.

Leave a Reply

